Devils Bathtub

Hey there nice to meet ya! I am Shawna.

Often times my Mom and Aunt get so busy with their full time jobs and Etsy store that they neglect this lonely blog. So I have offered to help out a bit and try an write a few blog posts for them.

Just so you know this is my first time EVER blogging. So if you would cut me a little slack as I begin with my first post of one of the many mini vacations we took this summer.

Thanks

Devils Bathtub

KODAK Digital Still Camera

Every year for the last 5 years, my family along with my grandparents have taken a trip to the beautiful state of West Virginia. My paternal grandfather “Granddad” was born and raised there, so he likes to go back and see the state that he once called home.  Usually on these trips we wonder around checking out all the places that Granddad lived or hung out. I love the twinkle in his eye as he reminisces about the days of old. And let me just say that Granddad has some stories to tell.

Unfortunately, though my grandparents were not going to be able to attend this years trip, so we were gonna need something to do.  So I made it my mission to to create an amazing itinerary and I must admit I think I did a fabulous job.

100_0340.JPG

 

 

 

 

 

So if you would come along with me and check out our first location known as the Devils Bathtub located in George Washington National Forest in Fort Blackmore, VA. To reach the location of the bathtub you must walk and extremely challenging trail that is approximately 1.5 miles long. With rugged terrain it will have as many as 13 stream crossings. You must also be vigilant for this area is prone to copperheads and rattlesnakes, along with whatever wildlife is living in the forest.

As treacherous as this trail seemed nothing could prepare you for the beauty of the creeks and woods that surround you, the bathtub itself along with its elegant rock formations, and the waterfall behind it. Each of these made the hike well worth the work we had to put in to get to it. Here are just a few of the beautiful images that I captured along our way.

KODAK Digital Still Camera

KODAK Digital Still Camera

KODAK Digital Still Camera

KODAK Digital Still Camera

 

Leave a Reply

